2020 Conference Agenda

The 2020 conference will unite the brightest minds in cancer research to discuss and debate some of the greatest issues in the field. Our multidisciplinary programme combines expertise from across the breadth of cancer research and career stages, together with insights from allied disciplines, to spark new opportunities for collaborative research.

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

15:45 – 16:00 BST
7:45 a.m – 8:00 a.m PDT

Virtual Conference Welcome

16:00 – 16:12 BST
8:00 a.m – 8:12 a.m PDT

Session 1 – Windows of Opportunity for Early Detection

Session 1 – Talk 1
Live

Speaker:
Caroline Dive, CRUK Manchester Institute

16:12 – 16:24 BST
8:12 a.m – 8:24 a.m PDT

Session 1 – Talk 2
Live

Speaker:
Anton Berns, NKI

16:24 – 16:44 BST
8:24 a.m – 8:44 a.m PDT

Session 1 – Q&A
Live – Q&A panel including session chairs.

One session chair to moderate.

16:44 – 16:54 BST
8:44 a.m – 8:54 a.m PDT

Lightning Talks x 2

16:54 – 17:29 BST
8:54 a.m – 9:29 a.m PDT

Emerging opportunities for early Detection reflecting on Covid-19
Live panel discussion speakers, including a chair/moderator

Speakers:
Jackie Shannon, OHSU
Rebecca Fitzgerald, MRC
Kevin Monahan, St Marks
Sancy Leachman, OHSU

17:29 – 17:44 BST
9:29 a.m – 9:44 a.m PDT

Break

17:44 – 17:56 BST
9:44 a.m – 9:56 a.m PDT

Session 2 – Leveraging Risk Stratification for Early Detection

Session 2 – Talk 1
Live

Speaker: 
Julia Hipsley-Cox, University of Oxford

17:56 – 18:08 BST
9:56 a.m – 10:08 a.m PDT

Session 2 – Talk 2
Live

Speaker:
Jon Emery, University of Melbourne

18:08 – 18:28 BST
10:08 a.m – 10:28 a.m PDT

Session 2 – Q&A
Live – Q&A panel including session chairs

One session chair to moderate

18:28 – 18:38 BST
10:28 a.m – 10:38 a.m PDT

Lightning Talks x 2

18:38 – 19:38 BST
10:38 a.m – 11:38 a.m PDT

Posters Viewing online
Ongoing

Wednesday, October 7, 2020

15:45 – 16:00 BST
7:45 a.m – 8:00 a.m PDT

Virtual Conference Welcome

16:00 – 16:10 BST
8:00 a.m – 8:10 a.m PDT

Session 3 – The Future of Designing and Delivering Early Detection Trials

Session 3 – Talk 1
Live

Speaker: 
Hilary Robbins, IARC

16:10 – 16:20 BST
8:10 a.m – 8:20 a.m PDT

Session 3 – Talk 2
Live

Speaker:
Alex Aravanis, Illumina

16:20 – 16:40 BST
8:20 a.m – 8:40 a.m PDT

Session 3 – Q&A
Live – Q&A panel with session chairs.

One session chair to moderate

16:40 – 16:50 BST
8:40 a.m – 8:50 a.m PDT

Lightning Talks x 2

16:50 – 17:05 BST
8:50 a.m – 9:05 a.m PDT

Break

17:05 – 18:05 BST
9:05 a.m – 10:05 a.m PDT

Networking Breakout Groups
5 min intro and instructions

40 min Groups pre-assigned topics and recording outputs

18:05 – 18:45 BST
10:05 a.m – 10:45 a.m PDT

Keynote and Q&A
Live

Speaker:
Dinah S. Singer, NCI

18:45 – 19:45 BST
10:45 a.m – 11:45 a.m PDT

Posters Viewing and Outputs from Networking online
Ongoing

Thursday, October 8, 2020

15:45 – 16:00 BST
7:45 a.m – 8:00 a.m PDT

Virtual Conference Welcome

16:00 – 16:12 BST
8:00 a.m – 8:12 a.m PDT

Session 4 – Making the Most of Big Data – Artificial Intelligence and Early Detection

Session 4 – Talk 1
Live

Speaker:
Lily Peng & Sunny Jansen, Google Health

16:12 – 16:24 BST
8:12 a.m – 8:24 a.m PDT

Session 4 – Talk 2
Live

Speaker:
Parag Mallick, Stanford University

16:24– 16:44 BST
8:24 a.m – 8:44 a.m PDT

Session 4 – Q&A
Live – Q&A panel with session chairs

One session chair to moderate

16:44 – 16:54 BST
8:44 a.m – 8:54 a.m PDT

Lightning Talks x 2

16:54 – 17:09 BST
8:54 a.m – 9:09 a.m PDT

Break

17:09 – 17:39 BST
9:09 a.m – 9:39 a.m PDT

Debate 1- Germline genomic risk stratification must be part of early detection
5 min each side; 10 min head to head; 10 min Q&A

Speakers:
FOR: Gareth Evans, University of Manchester
AGAINST: Cristian Tomasetti, Johns Hopkins University

17:39 – 18:09 BST
9:39 a.m – 10:09 a.m PDT

Debate 2- “New early detection approaches must have evidence from at least two randomised controlled trials showing a benefit in cancer-specific mortality before they should be used clinically”.
5 min each side; 10 min head to head; 10 min Q&A

Speakers: 
FOR: Harry de Koning, Erasmus University Medical Centre
AGAINST: Steve Skates, Harvard University

18:09 – 19:09 BST
10:09 a.m – 11:09 a.m PDT

Conference Close and Virtual Drinks
Random breakout groups with icebreaker questions; quiz